What do you love about animated movies?

After binge watching Ghibli movies for the past 2 days, this question just kind of came to me while talking with one of my roommates. Being a film student, I watch a lot of movies, usually 2 or 3 a day. I think there is a lot of visual techniques that can only be found in animation, and the fact that some of my classmates ignore certain movies because they are animated baffles me. I feel like there is a lot to be learned by watching animated movies that can be brought to live action, whether it’s pacing, shot types, storyboards or what have you.

Satoshi Kon has influenced two huge live action action movies which are very similar to his own animated works. I find Black Swan is good adaptation of Kon’s Perfect Blue, and the same goes for Inception mirroring Paprika with a lot of it’s visuals and setting.

Here is a video that made me think on why animated movies are so unique and wonderful. It also helps that it uses my favorite movie of all time as an example.

Some of my favorites include Wolf Children, Princess Mononoke, Zootopia, End of Evangelion, Castle in the Sky, Mulan, Quest for Camelot (guilty pleasure), the Iron Giant and Madoka Magica: Rebellion.

Let me know what your thoughts are and share some of your favorite animated classics or your own.

3 Likes

I tend to find myself more in favor of series than movies, they tend to just resonate better with me, though madoka magica Rebellion was great.

Though I will mention that I hate disney from the very bottom of my soul and if every single thing that disney ever made vanished off the face of the earth, I believe the world would be better off with it. Especially the adaptions of myths and folk tales they did, they’re all horrible imo. Then again, I study myths and such so bad adaptations that were whitewashed are a pet peeve of mine.

1 Like